The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old December 3, 2016, 11:32 PM   #1
dakota.potts

.30-06 Class Project Rifle

I'm a student at Piedmont Technical College's school of Classical Gunsmithing in the end of my 3rd of 4 semesters. Since our second semester (roughly June of this year) we have been working on our class project rifles. Monday begins my last week of this semester, the last week for work on our rifles, which means it will be coming home with me some time this week. Now that there isn't much waiting left to do, I decided to start the thread that I've been waiting to start chronicling the build.

We started with our action, a Model 1999 action from Montana Rifle Company. The 1999 takes popular features from the Winchester Model 70 with some Mauser like features. They seem to be decent actions but have had a couple of issues that would give me hesitancy towards using them in the future -- very delayed shipments, some issues with the receiver threads, rifles shipping with half stainless and half carbon steel screws, and very deep casting/machining marks that won't be possible to get out without serious re-shaping. The future classes will be using Remington 700 actions. But, those small issues aside, I am excited for the final product.

We started by taking a piece of cold rolled steel stock and machining a mock barrel which we could thread to the receiver and then chamber to practice chambering to tolerance. We did this on two different pieces, one of which we also threaded at the muzzle end and had to maintain concentricity for a muzzle brake.