The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old May 27, 2016, 10:06 PM   #1
Rumblefrost

Belgium Bulldog

Hello,
I'm new to TFL and I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I recently acquired a Belgium bulldog its chambered for .32 short colt. I went to a gun store today to look for .32 short colt. I'll pause for laughter here... So I have a question. Can I re-chamber it for 32 Smith & Wesson short? Is there any other ammo I can use in it? I know you're probably thinking why bother? I have the means to acquire nearly any edc gun I would like but I really want to carry this one. For many years these .32's were considered to be perfectly fine carry guns and I don't think I need much more firepower. Has anyone re chambered an old .32 revolver and can you share your story? Thanks.
Old May 28, 2016, 12:36 AM   #2
Scorch

Not to nitpick, but there is no such thing as 32 S&W Short, just 32 S&W and 32 S&W Long. There is also a 32 Colt (New Police) which is the same as 32 S&W Long, but as far as I can tell never a 32 Colt Short. But it would not surprise me if Colt chambered a revolver for 32 S&W and called it 32 Colt Short, they never wanted their competitor's name on their product in any way. Anyway, if you have a Colt Pocket Positive, Police Positive or other revolver chambered for 32 Colt, that is sold as 32 S&W Long. And if that does not fit, then 32 S&W.

And since we are in the vein, there is also no 45 Long Colt, just 45 Colt, the shorter version was called the 45 Government, but people have been calling it 45 Long Colt for so long that it has become its own reference.

And yes, 32s were considered all you needed back in the day. Back before antibiotics, anesthetics, and trauma surgeons. But there are so many more better-suited cartridges that there is no need to goo looking for $75/box antique cartridges.
Old May 28, 2016, 04:33 AM   #3
gyvel