The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old July 23, 2014, 01:10 AM   #1
ART338WM

Help needed, Which one for IDPA?

First I should make it clear I have zero knowledge or experience shooting in formal handgun compititions. I belong to a private gun club that has a large IDPA fallowing and I wish to join and compete. I have no asperations in becoming a serious competitore as I have neithor the time or money to do so. I absolutely love shooting all my firearms and punching paper has finally become to boring, hence my desire to join IDPA.

My handgun budget is as close to $600 or less as is possible and we are talking financial pain to exceed $550.

I am looking for experienced based advice on gun selection, but before I ask which of the guns I'm interested in, I will list the ones I don't like and there fore will not buy as I am looking for a out of the box ready pistol, I don't wish to invest $100-$200 dollars after I buy in trigger upgrades. Don't get me wrong I admit they all great guns, but because of the way they feel, their trigger or cost, I have eliminated them from the running: Glocks feel/trigger, XDM trigger, Sig cost/trigger, FN&H trigger, CZ SP-01/trigger.

I am down to the fallowing two pistols:
<>Walther PPQ M2 5" 9mm
<>S&W M&P Pro 5" 9mm

I literally did a 50x each side by side dry fire and reset compairison of the two. They both felt equally superb in my hands. In the end the PPQ M2's trigger was slightly better than the M&P Pro's. That was the one of the only two advantages in MY opinion the PPQ M2 had on the M&P Pro. the other was the fact that the M&P's fiber optic element in the front sight was so loose I could have litterally pulled it out.