The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 20, 2002, 10:01 AM   #1
grojeanj

Lead vs. Jacketed vs. Plated Discrepancies?

I was looking at load data provided for accurate arms for 357 magnum and am a bit confused. I'm new to reloading (okay, I haven't even started yet but I'm reading all I can). This forum has been absolutely great. Anyway, I was looking at charges for lead, jacketed, and plated 158 grain bullets. For one of their powders the max loads are as follows:

158 LSWC -- 13.5 gr
158 JHP -- 15.0 gr
158 plated FP -- 11.9 gr

There were similar differences with all powders listed. Why so much less with the plated bullet? I can understand that less powder would be needed with lead as they seem to be .001" larger diameter as a rule and softer than jacketed hence sealing the bore a bit more (perhaps). The only thing I noticed was that pressure data was in CUP for the lead/jacketed and in PSI for the plated. All loads were in the 91-98% of their respective max. Just found it a bit confusing.

Thanks for any replies to this post and thanks to all of TFL for helping a newbie really learn a lot about firearms in a short time (got my first less than a year ago).
Old December 20, 2002, 10:38 AM   #2
Jim Watson

Well, if the plated is shown in PSI and the others in CUP, they were shot in different rigs; different barrels, different pressure gauges. That can account for a good part of it. For the rest, the plated bullet has the copper on steel coefficient of friction but is softer than jacketed and slugs up in the bore. Seems that might increase pressure. Otherwise, it's just one of those things.

Good to have somebody studying up in advance instead of jumping in at the deep end and trying to learn how to handload one question at a time.
Old December 20, 2002, 12:16 PM   #3
JohnK