The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 2, 2020, 05:39 PM   #1
montana09

Case Lubing timeline

I have what might be an odd question. I'm new to reloading bottleneck rifle cartridges, currently have dies for .270 win and 7mm Mauser. I'm pretty experienced with carbide dies and straight walled pistol cartridges so before this I've never had to lube the cases. I'm using just a single stage Lee press with Pacesetter dies and Lee Lubricant. I plan to lube and deprime a bunch of brass, then load up 5 rounds in each caliber to test before loading up a full batch (I plan to start with mild loads using H4350). How long can the lube stay on the case before it needs to be reapplied, as in I plan to load these 5, set the others aside in a container and after I know I got it right load up the rest. It would probably be about a week or so all things considered. When I go to load the rest is the lube on there good or needing a refresher? Thanks and any suggestions about a better lube would be appreciated!
Old April 2, 2020, 05:47 PM   #2
FrankenMauser

Lube loves holding on to dirt, dust, and other unfriendly (abrasive) particles.
Leaving lubed brass sitting around is not too far off from sweeping the floor and then dumping it over the brass, in my opinion.

Once the cases are sized, the lube is no longer required.
Clean them up and let them sit. (Clean and dry.)
Old April 2, 2020, 05:52 PM   #3
MarkCO

Depends on the lube and environment. Some will be fine even after the carrier is gone. Some only last for about 30 minutes.

You really only need the lube for full length sizing, and you only do that once. I put about 2 handfuls of brass in sturdy 8" x 8" box and spray for about 7 seconds while shaking the box.

Then tumble in corn cob with polish.
Old April 2, 2020, 06:01 PM   #4
montana09