The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 30, 2015, 05:29 PM   #1
Tomas

Moo Cow's effect on game

I've been hunting Idaho for many years. I hunt public lands. There are some times open range moo cows milling about at various places where I go, and when I see or hear them, I beat feet to a new location. I've never encountered deer or elk any where near them...they seem to eschew them at all cost.

Until this year.

While walking on a game trail I round a slight bend and see a massive mule deer looking down hill. There have been moo cows , about a dozen, in this area, 300-400 yards away from where I am currently at (just a few) all week. He's so intent on what's going on down hill he doesn't even hear me, which was surprising. After gathering myself a bit, I step out and shoot him. When I get on his carcass, I look down hill to see what was so darn interesting, that it cost him his life...and there is a small pod, 8 or so, of elk running around down there about 100 yards away, trying to figure out what all the noise is about. So, I shoot one of them, too. Whole thing took 5 minutes. I radio camp for the horses...

I have NEVER seen game so close to moo cows before in many years of hunting. Every time deer or elk encounter moo cows, they beat feet. They really seem to avoid them. But not on this day. I'm curious what your experiences are with moo cow's effect on deer and elk behavior.
Old October 30, 2015, 06:49 PM   #2
Tinbucket

Moo Cows effect on game

A fellow I knew, in the sixties and seventies rode a cow on a saddle to hunt deer. He brought tee cow up by bottle and it was a pet.
he had many fields all surrounded by deep woods.
Elk will breed with cows and have offspring. I don't know what the genetics and survivability of the offspring is. Most or all Ranchers shoot them, I understand.
Same with Buffalo except there are many off spring running around.