The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old April 15, 2020, 06:56 AM   #1
Peter R

.311 verses .312. 7.7 jap Arisaka

Good morning,
New member here, hope this post is in the correct location,
I have been reloading for many years, For many different cartridges , however recently acquired a 7.7 Japanese Arisaka, I received this gun from an old timer who has had it for many years, it was a war take-home From his brother, and has been fired many times while in his possession. I manage to find a couple of boxes of ammo for it and took it to the range. She’s a good shooter.
Then I started the process of tracking down some new brass and projectiles etc. But after looking at several reloading books, and reading countless articles my bore diameter came into question. So I slugged the barrel and it mikes out at .312 to .313 at the widest point.
Hindsight is 2020 they say. I fired off every round I had, I should have pulled one bullet and checked its diameter.
Does anyone know what the factory ammo bullet diameter is? Dose it truly matter whether I order the 311 versus the 312 Or even the 313, Or am I overthinking this?
Thanks
Peter
Old April 15, 2020, 08:30 AM   #2
tangolima

You can slug the barrel to find out. Unless you intend to win match and set record, there is not much difference between .311" and .312".

My 7.7 Arisaka was from an old timer coworker. His father served in the Philippines during the war. It had been sitting in his garage for decades before he sold it to me.

-TL

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Old April 15, 2020, 09:02 AM   #3
ernie8