The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 18, 2011, 05:24 PM   #1
Major Beef

New Franchi I-12 with $100 rebate?

I've been looking at the Franchi I-12 and the gun really strikes my fancy. I can get a new one out the door for $510 (synthetic) and $560 (walnut), which after the $100 factory rebate would make the final cost $410 and $460.

Is that considered a good price? To put it another way, is that good gun for the money? And is the walnut worth the extra $50?

Also, I'm new to shotguns and I recently bought a new Benelli Nova and a used Stoeger M2000 (waiting for both to be shipped) and I was wondering if it would be sort of redundant to own both the M2000 and the I-12 since the actions are exactly the same.

Any input, however tangentially related to the Franchi I-12 will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old August 19, 2011, 04:14 AM   #2
bejay

sounds like a real good price I would expect the franchi to maybe be a little better quality than the m2000 and from what ive looked at they generally cost more than the m2000, as per wood vs synthetic its really personal prefrence I think wood looks alot nicer and well worth the price difference.
Old August 19, 2011, 08:16 AM   #3
Rugerismisticness

Thats a great price for an I12, buy it and sell off the M2000. The I 12 is a great all around gun for both clays and hunting. If that wasn't such an amazing price I'd recommend going after the I12 Diamond or I12 Sport.
Old August 19, 2011, 07:56 PM   #4
Major Beef

Quote:
Thats a great price for an I12, buy it and sell off the M2000. The I 12 is a great all around gun for both clays and hunting. If that wasn't such an amazing price I'd recommend going after the I12 Diamond or I12 Sport.
I would love the I-12 Diamond, but the $100 rebate specifically excludes the Diamond out of the I-12 line. I think I will go for the I-12 in Walnut, but I'll keep the Stoeger to loan to a buddy.