The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 11, 2018, 07:03 AM   #1
horseman308

Recommended reloading dies for .357mag Black Powder

I'm gonna experiment with loading Black Powder in my Vaqueros and Uberti 73 for Cowboy Action (rather than just go buy a bunch of new guns first). I know some people poo-poo the idea of BP in a
.357 case, so if your response is "don't bother" or "get a different gun" then please keep it to yourself.

I'm not new to Black Powder at all. Been shooting muzzleloaders, cap and ball, and single-shot BPCR for several years. However, I AM new to reloading for lever guns in particular. I've read the Lyman 49th edition and cast bullet manuals. I know carbide dies are preferred to avoid having to lube cases.

My big question concerns crimping cases for the lever gun. I'm not worried about bullet setback on a black powder load. There won't be any empty space inside the case for the bullet to push into. Nor am I super worried about fouling. Been managing fouling for a long time, and cleaning BP isn't hard. But I certainly want the rounds to cycle and feed smoothly. I am aware that there is a debate between roll crimping and taper crimping for lever guns. What type of crimp and how tight would y'all suggest?

Next question is how much case sizing needs to be done. I don't size or crimp at all for my Sharps, but that's a single shot. For lever guns and revolvers, should I be full length sizing or just neck sizing?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Old December 11, 2018, 08:23 AM   #2
Hawg

Size however you want. I use a taper crimp and it hasn't been a problem with my lever actions.
Old December 11, 2018, 10:17 AM   #3
horseman308

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawg View Post
Size however you want. I use a taper crimp and it hasn't been a problem with my lever actions.
Awesome. Thanks. Got a preferred set of dies?

Old December 11, 2018, 06:23 PM   #4