The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 23, 2020, 03:20 PM   #1
TruthTellers

Alternative powder recommendations?

I was wise enough to order a few thousand primers before they all disappeared, that and a pound of powders I'd been wanting to try.

Unfortunately, Unique and Bullseye are Unobtanium right now, I didn't think to stock up on powders because a pound lasted me long enough, so now I'm looking at alternative powders that I've never used before and didn't plan to ever use.

I guess this is how a lot of people discover new to them powders that they liked more due to shortages. Guess my time for new discovery had to come eventually.

Anyway, what I see available that I have load data for in my manuals is stuff like 700x, True Blue, Titegroup and a lot of other Hodgdon powders, Winchester 231, and Lil' Gun.

What can you guys tell me about these powders? I look in the books and 700x seems pretty anemic, tho it is cheap under $20/lb. Lil Gun I've intended to buy to use in .32 revolvers, True Blue looks to be very versatile and looks quite energetic.

FTR, I reload .327, .38/.357, .40/10, and .45 for revolvers.
Old September 23, 2020, 03:24 PM   #2
Whirlwind06

Titegroup is close to bullseye on the burn rate charts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old September 23, 2020, 06:23 PM   #3
Nick_C_S

If W231 (or HP-38) is available, you're golden. It's just slightly slower than Bullseye. Great stuff.

Honorable mention goes to TiteGroup - especially if you're loading plated semi-auto ammo.
Old September 24, 2020, 07:00 AM   #4
5whiskey

700x is a great powder for .38 and .45. Not really anemic in those low pressure calibers. Quite anemic for the rest of your calibers, and very much so for 10mm and .357.