The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old July 22, 2020, 10:48 PM   #1
Metric

messing with the feed ramp

Someone I know has a Beretta 71 that the previous owner screwed with, before selling it off.

The 71 is the most reliable .22 pistol platform that I've seen. But this one was attacked by a bubba with a dremel tool. The aluminum frame was apparently "polished" (aggressively) where it fits against the barrel's feed ramp. Since metal was removed from the frame, this created a tiny gap with a slightly "overhanging" feed ramp.

Not surprisingly, the overhanging feed ramp now catches bullets as they are feeding out of the magazine, and shaves a bit off them and/or causes jams (failures to feed).

This, of course, is extremely annoying. It looks to me as though there is only one realistic fix -- taking an equal amount of metal off the feed ramp to eliminate the "overhang."

I have never done this before, and I'm well aware of the possibility of screwing things up even more. But I want to know if it's effectively "next to impossible" to do it right, or if some work with a needle file and then polishing could possibly help.

The overhang is very small, and with the best possible ammo (mini-mag) it creates a jam perhaps once every 10 shots, on average. With other ammo, jams are much more common. It's very easy to see how that overhanging ramp is shaving bullets.

What would you do?
Old July 23, 2020, 10:47 AM   #2
FrankenMauser

Have a skilled TiG welder replace the metal that was removed.
Then return the feed ramp to its original shape, as well as possible.
Old July 23, 2020, 07:03 PM   #3
Metric

We decided to risk it. I broke out a needle file and re-shaped the feed ramp to eliminate the slight overhang, then polished. Haven't shot it yet but it will now hand-cycle everything flawlessly (ammo that was giving guaranteed jams every mag when hand-cycled before).

Will try shooting over the weekend.