The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old December 10, 2018, 06:45 PM   #1
308Loader

ar gas block change

so I want to free float my ar. I picked up all the parts I need and have the barrel nut changed out and the old front sight / gas block removed. this is the first time I done a project like this. every thing went smoothly, but I have one question before I install the gas block. the A2 front sight was pined on so I got the longer low profile gas block to cover the pin holes. it has 3 set screws, will I need to dimple the barrel for the 3 set screws. the rearward most hole hits the old pin cut out. the other 2 can be dimpled I think. I've never done this before but have read to use this type of block dimpling needs to be done, right? whos jig do you all like? or is their a better way?
Old December 11, 2018, 03:03 AM   #2
Scorch

No need (unless you want to).
Old December 11, 2018, 05:10 AM   #3
Nathan

I cannot really answer that for you. Many people tighten the set screws and think they are fine. At some point, I’m sure their gas block comes loose. It is just a reality of heat cycling.

Applying rockset helps. It is like super high temp locktite.

IMO, cutting the sight part off your FSB and putting it back on is your best bet. Then you have a pinned gas block. Pins have proven reliable.

Or you could pin the new block on, but that adds another hole in your barrel.

I have a clamp on type on an accuracy rifle. It seems fine for now, but I worry I will find it loose someday.
Old December 11, 2018, 08:53 PM   #4
Mobuck

"IMO, cutting the sight part off your FSB and putting it back on is your best bet."

BINGO
Old December 12, 2018, 11:19 AM   #5
FrankenMauser

Dimpling is unnecessary.

I've never seen a properly-installed gas block come loose unless it was subjected to extreme heat* and abuse. *(We're talking 'melt your gas tube' levels of heat.)

But if you are worried about it, the FSB chop is a cheap solution.