The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old December 24, 2008, 10:51 AM   #1
Super-Dave

I am going trap shooting for the first time.. I need help

I am going to go trap shooting for the first time next week.

What choke should I use?

What shells should I use.. #9, #8, #7?

I have never been and I am a noob.

George Orwell
Old December 24, 2008, 10:59 AM   #2
JWT

Assuming you're shooting singles from the 16yd. line I'd start out with either a modified or improved modified choke and #8 shot.

Good luck and enjoy the sport.

Last edited by JWT; December 24, 2008 at 11:25 AM.
Old December 24, 2008, 11:13 AM   #3
johnwilliamson062

1. Have someone help you with the safety rules. You can only load, chamber, shoulder etc. within x number of shooters of your turn. There are some other oddities.
2. Do what people tell you. Ask someone that is shooting well if they can watch you for a round and give you tips. This will probably open a waterfall of tips from everyone, sort through them for the ones you like.
3. take more ammo and money then you planned to. Shooting clays is not cheap.
4. I use 7.5 and 8s. I have had nines bounce off clays at longer range shots(I think). I see very little performance difference between 7s, 7.5s, and 8s.
5. I use a full choke for everything. Gives me a good excuse to be lousy and it is good practice.
6. Have fun.
Old December 24, 2008, 11:48 AM   #4
BigJimP

Modified Choke.

1 oz or 1 1/8 oz of 8's - something around 1200 fps or 3 dram equivalent is enough.
Old December 24, 2008, 11:57 AM   #5
zippy13

Newbie dont's to avoid

BigJimP's right on the mark for choke and shell selection for 16yd trap. My I add, take your longest barrel, and heaviest gun.

Since this will be your first time shooting club targets. Here's a re-posting of my recent response to a question about some newbie "don'ts" to avoid: