The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 19, 2009, 04:43 AM   #1
RedneckFur

Mixing brass

I was recently given a few hundred peices of mixed headstamp brass for .38 special and .308 winchester. I'm new to reloading, and I'm learing the ropes as I go. I've probably loaded only about 1000 rounds since I've started.

The brass was given to me by a freind at my gun club that saves mixed brass as "starter kits" for new handloaders.

The .308 brass is mixed Remington, Federal, PMC, and about 100 peices of Nato 7.62 brass with various codes stamped on it.

The .38 special brass is a mix of Remington, Peters, UMC, Federal, and about 150 peices of brass with headstamps I do not recognise. It had nato-esque stamps that are just a series of numbers, but no nato cross, and what appears to be a standard primer (no crimp)

I've also got about 100 peices of nickle plated brass.

My question is, is it ok to mix headstamps when loading, or should I keep them seperate?

Also, I've heard that the Nato brass is heavier, and must be loaded with lighter charges. Is this also true? Also, with the nato brass, Can I simply de-cap the cases and clean the primer pocket with a primer pocket cleaner, or do I need a special die to remove the crimp? Some of the cases have already been deprimed.

Are there any special guidelines for using nickle plated brass?

Also, as far as brands of brass go, is there athing I should be looking for? Most shooters I know prefer to use only winchester brass. Will I get poor results by using remington or Federal brass? How about Nato spec brass?

I've got about 150 peices of winchester 308 and about 1000 winchester 38 special, that I've loaded previously.

I really apreciate any insight or help you more experienced handloaders can give me.
Old June 19, 2009, 07:09 AM   #2
Sevens