The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old March 4, 2019, 09:31 AM   #1
steve4102

Firearms Dealer Getting Sued

Academy Sports is being sued by the victims of the Sutherland Springs church shooting.

The lawsuit says that Academy Sports in TX illegally sold the shooter a Ruger AR-556, because he was a Colorado resident and CO had a ban on High Cap Assault Rifles.

Quote:
"At the time the mass shooter illegally purchased the High Capacity Ruger AR-556 model 8500 at Academy in Texas, he reported a Colorado Springs, Colorado address on his Firearms Transaction Record, Form 4473. He presented Defendant Academy with a state-issued ID that reflected a matching state residence. This fact alone legally disqualified the mass shooter from purchasing the Ruger AR-556 model 8500 firearm," the lawsuit says.
https://townhall.com/tipsheet/bethba...recip=27116010

This seems like a stretch to me, but I'm not a lawyer and up on all the State-to-State laws.

What say you?
Old March 4, 2019, 10:08 AM   #2
zukiphile

Two things strike me as wrong about this, but maybe I'm wrong and this will prompt a correction.

I understood CO to have banned standard capacity magazines produced after a certain date, but did not understand CO to have banned ARs. Am I wrong?

What struck me as more odd was that a TX FFL was selling to a purported CO resident. I thought only a resident of the FFL's state could purchase from an FFL. Is that wrong too?
Old March 4, 2019, 10:14 AM   #3
USNRet93

Quote:
Originally Posted by zukiphile View Post
Two things strike me as wrong about this, but maybe I'm wrong and this will prompt a correction.

I understood CO to have banned standard capacity magazines produced after a certain date, but did not understand CO to have banned ARs. Am I wrong?