The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 26, 2017, 05:32 PM   #1
ninosdemente

Rock Chucker Supreme Master Reloading Kit

I recently went to a store and saw this on the shelf. I am new to reloading and I am interested in learning the process and am starting from scratch. I know there are other equipment and dies that will need to get bought among other items like primers, bullets, powders, etc.

I had talked to a customer at a local gun store and he actually took the time to talk to me about reloading. I am reading what I can, not as much as I should but something. He mentioned this one stage to be good for me as a beginner. Now my question, is this a good starter for beginners? Honestly am thinking about it because of the price. At the moment I have .223 and 30-06, which mainly would use it for the 30-06. But will use to reload what I have if possible or what ever I shoot the most. Is there a limit of caliber reloading? Eventually plan of getting a .308 in the future. Also is this for hand gun loading or only for rifle? I have .380, .45, 9mm.

I am planning on making from 50-100.

Thanks in advanced for the help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20170624_112556.jpg (174.8 KB, 179 views)
Old June 26, 2017, 05:37 PM   #2
Carriertxv

Can't go wrong with that price. Yes it will work for what you want.
Old June 26, 2017, 05:39 PM   #3
Rangerrich99

Hi and welcome. You're going to get plenty of good info pretty soon, but to answer your questions in a general manner:

This set up is fine for a beginner, up to an experienced reloader.

It should be capable of reloading from .17 caliber up to .50 bmg.

You can reload pistol and rifle ammunition on this set up. You just need to get the appropriate dies.

Get the Lyman's 49th or 50th edition for reloading, and probably the ABC's of reloading. You'll end up with about a dozen reloading manuals eventually, but those two are a good start.