The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 4, 2019, 12:25 PM   #1
Onward Allusion

Powder for 38/357

Looking for a powder that can be easily used with a dipper. I've been using Titegroup for the past 5 years (got a deal & that stuff goes a LONG way) but it's kind of a pain measuring it to plus/minus 0.1 grains.

What is a good power I can use with a dipper that is more forgiving, can be used for 110, 125, & 158 grain bullets, and allow me to load powder-puffs to full-house 357?

Last edited by Onward Allusion; May 4, 2019 at 01:04 PM.
Old May 4, 2019, 12:38 PM   #2
74A95

Power or powder?
Old May 4, 2019, 12:54 PM   #3
NoSecondBest

I don't understand your question. What do you mean "it's kind of a pain measuring it to plus/minus 0.1 grains"? If you dip powder, you're going to get more variation than that. I dip all the time for my low volume rifle loads and you simply can't count on dipping being all that close. I use a scoop that comes up just short and then use a powder trickler to bring it to zero. Depending on powder used with my Redding measure, I rarely (and I mean rarely) ever have to do anything once the measure is adjusted correctly.....with just about any powder. Just how are you measuring powder now, and why are you having a problem keeping it within +/- .1 grain?
Old May 4, 2019, 12:56 PM   #4
zxcvbob

Herco. It's pretty bulky, and just a little slower-burning than Unique. It works great for 158 grain cast bullet .357's. Should work good for the other weights too, or top-end .38 Special loads.

AA#7 is a good .357 Magnum powder, and you'll use enough at a time that dippers should work. I don't think it will work well in .38, tho'.
Old May 4, 2019, 01:02 PM   #5
Metal god