The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old June 26, 2020, 04:10 PM   #1
triplebike

Remington Thunderbolt 22lr

I really enjoy shooting my 22 handguns and I shoot them a lot. 22LR is getting a bit scarce in my neck of the woods and after the last drought a few years back, I made a promise to myself to always keep 10 thousand on hand. So today I was at my LGS and they had the Thunderbolt 500 pack for $15.00, picked up 4 boxes. I have never used this ammo before and I must say I was pleasantly surprised with it's performance. I fired about 250/300 rds without a single problem and the accuracy was quite acceptable. I know it's not as clean as my federal bulk stuff, but I clean my guns after every range trip so it's not that big a deal. I won't hesitate to pick up another few thousand rounds since it priced right. The two handguns I ran it through today was a Ruger SR22 & a Ruger MKIV 22/45 LITE.
Old June 26, 2020, 06:45 PM   #2
FITASC

Glad they worked for you! I had too many misfires/duds and jamming on my MKII Ruger
"I believe that people have a right to decide their own destinies; people own themselves. I also believe that, in a democracy, government exists because (and only so long as) individual citizens give it a 'temporary license to exist'—in exchange for a promise that it will behave itself. In a democracy, you own the government—it doesn't own you."- Frank Zappa
Old June 26, 2020, 08:56 PM   #3
sparkyv

I'm trying to shoot up what I still have after the last shortage. Last week in my M63, they shot just fine.
Old June 26, 2020, 10:51 PM   #4
Geezerbiker

I can't figure out why a company that makes such good center-fire ammo makes such 'hity rim-fire ammo.

It would have to be free for me to bother taking it then it wouldn't be worth shooting in a semi-auto since it's so dirty. Blazer .22 is almost as bad but more reliably goes bang when you pull the trigger.

Tony