The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 8, 2007, 09:32 PM   #1
mbramsa

Picking up brass at the range...

I'm fairly new to shooting in the civilian world. I've been in the military for 9 years now, but only bought my first firearm in March.

I shoot (Glock 35) at a range here in San Antonio and just started participating in a pistol league there. I like to go shoot twice a week on average, about 250 rounds per week. This is starting to get a little spendy and I'm looking into reloading.

So far I have never seen anyone pick up brass at the pistol range. It's an outdoor range that gets plenty of business, but the only folks I ever see picking up brass are the ROs when they sweep it up into 5 gallon buckets.

My question is, is it ever not ok to pick up brass at a range? Is it ok to pick up off the ground but not out of the buckets? Should I only pick up as much as I shoot?

I'm sure I could ask at the range, and I probably will, but I wanted to get a general idea of what's allowed out in the world first.

Thanks!
Old October 8, 2007, 11:10 PM   #2
rwilson452

It's a matter of range policy. Some will only let you pick up your own. some claim it's theirs if it hits the ground. others you pick it up it's yours. You will need to ask.
Old October 9, 2007, 05:14 AM   #3
kestak

Greetings,

I pick up brass at the range all the time on the ground from fellow shooters after having asked them if it is ok with them. At the same time, I know that it is once fired brass.

Moreover, I got the authorization from the range master to pick up the brass. He said he had no problem.

I think it is all a question of courtesy and common sense. The worse thing you can get by asking is a no. By taking it without asking, the worse thing you can get is a sh**load of insults about you non "savoir-vivre".