The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 29, 2010, 03:56 AM   #1
sirrah243

357 mag hunting load question?

Hi everbody, I'm new to the forumn. I've been relaoding for about 2 years now, mostly rifle 243 and 22-250 and some 40 S&W.

I'm trying to develope a hunting load for my GP100 6". I'll be using it on hogs and possibly deer at max 50 yards. I'm planning on loading Hornady XTP 180 gr. with either W296/H110 or Alliant 2400

Does anybody here have any experience with the 180 gr. XTP bullet in a hunting application? How did it perform? penetration? exit? blood trail?

Is 180 gr. to much? would 158 gr. be a better choice

I plan to mostly use the round for hogs but will harvest a deer if the situation presents itself.

Any input is appreciated, Thank you.
Old September 29, 2010, 08:19 AM   #2
Sam06

First welcome to Handloading on TFL.

I have not shot or loaded the XTP but I do shoot and load a 173gr Cast KT bullet. I have kind of moved away from 296 and 110 in my 357,41 and 44 loads but in my notes:

15.7gr of H110 would push a 173gr Cast KT/PB bullet @ 1390fps from my Ruger BH with a 6.5" barrel.

I would check my manual but I don't have it handy. Look at what yours says.

Another tip from a dedicated Handgun hunter. Bullet placement is VERY important in handgun hunting and second is penetration. That is why I use a heavy for caliber Hard cast bullet at a moderate/high speed in my hunting handguns. I also like AA#9 powder. It is very consistent and it meters like water. I have been looking for some Ramshot Enforcer because I have heard its the bees knees in a 44 mag. But have not found it where I live.

Good luck this season.
Old September 29, 2010, 08:29 AM   #3
Unclenick
Staff

Deer die easily compared to large hogs, so worry only about the hogs and the same round will take any deer.