The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old June 13, 2005, 11:37 PM   #1
S.E.R.T.SGT

Paintball Gun as a Tactical Training Tool...

Our Major over the SERT is looking at the possibility of getting paintball guns to help in tactical training scenarios, as well as giving us another means to deploy pepper spray. My question, which is to both LEO as well as Non-LEO, is what advantages or disadvantages have you come across, or heard of, in regards to utilizing paintball guns as a method for tactical training? Any information that you can give would be extremely helpful as I would like to give him feedback, positive/negative, on other's experiences. I must admit that initially, I am little skeptical, but maybe there are some advantages to using this I am not aware of. (As you can see by the Thread I have little to no knowledge of this particular method of training) Your experiences/insights would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lighting they
Do not go gently into that good night.

Dylan Thomas

S.E.R.T.SGT
Old June 13, 2005, 11:47 PM   #2
Nimitz87

airsoft is a much better training tool IMHO...

airsoft guns are look identical to real guns and their are TONS of them out there...

an airsoft "round" is a small plastic BB....some are air powered, or battery powered...

paintball isnt realstic enough IMHO

Chad
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms... disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve to encourage rather than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man."

-Thomas Jefferson
www.insaneindustry.com

Newbieville Moderator
Old June 14, 2005, 07:28 AM   #3
bclark1