The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old September 1, 2017, 12:12 AM   #1
Nickel Plated

Shipping firearm to FFL. A hypothetical conundrum.

SO I got a bit of an issue currently. I bought a handgun on GunBroker. The seller is an FFL in PA. I am a resident of PA. But they are really far away so I decided it would be easier to just have it shipped to a PA FFL closer to me and pay the transfer fee rather than spend an entire day and burning all the gas driving back and forth to get it in person.
The handgun was shipped via USPS. When USPS attempted delivery, it was early in the morning before the receiving FFL was open. So the package went back to the post office. Unlike UPS and FedEx. USPS doesn't do multiple delivery attempts. If you miss it you gotta go to the PO to get it in person. Since the package is addressed to the receiving FFL and not me (I assume. Maybe my name is on it somewhere. Certainly not address), I can't just go get it myself. So I have to call the receiving FFL and see if they will go pick it up. I will try that tomorrow.

If the FFL decides he can't be bothered to go pick it up, I read that they can call the PO and designate me as an "authorized agent" to pick up the package for them, bring it back to the shop and complete the transfer.

Here's the hypothetical. I DO NOT PLAN TO ACTUALLY DO THIS! Just so some of you guys don't get sidetracked on that point.

What if I went to pick up the package, but instead of bringing it back to my FFL to complete the transfer, just said "Welp, I got my gun in hand, the seller has been paid, far as I'm concerned my part in this transaction is over. I'm goin' home with my new gun."

Theoretically would there be any laws broken on the part of any of the parties involved?