The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 11, 2009, 09:44 AM   #1
mapsjanhere

Sizing new brass?

The answer seems obvious, but one thing I learned about reloading is ask first instead of pulling 100 rounds because you had to post one of those "what did I do wrong" threads.
For the first time I get to load new factory brass (Remington for the 300 RUM). I've so far only started out with factory loads, and then reloaded. Is there any reason to run the new brass through the sizing die first?
Old December 11, 2009, 10:04 AM   #2
Christchild

Almost ALL new brass should be put through the Full Length Size Die before going any further. Nosler brass comes fully prepped and ready to load, as does Norma, but Weatherby, Remington and Winchester should be fully prepped (FL sized, trimmed, chamfered/deburred, flash hole deburred). I can not speak for Lapua, Hornady or Starline, since I have no experience with their factory new brass, though.

Some members here seem to do things different, but me personally, I always fully prep the Headstamped brass I've stated. Even Once Fired brass from factory loads, once I fire them in MY rifle, I'll just neck size (bolt action rifle ONLY) but I'll still put them through the entire process after neck sizing.
Old December 11, 2009, 10:12 AM   #3
Bud Helms

Quote:
Is there any reason to run the new brass through the sizing die first?
Yes. It is a good practice and can't possibly hurt anything. Just a little of your time.
Old December 11, 2009, 01:29 PM   #4
LHB1

Yes, I run all brass thru the sizing die first, whether new or used. The sizing die reduces case mouth dimension slightly below normal so that it will provide proper grip/retention on the bullet.
Old December 11, 2009, 01:55 PM   #5
mapsjanhere

Thanks, the answer wasn't as obvious as I thought.
Old December 11, 2009, 03:10 PM   #6
GeauxTide