The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 12, 2018, 04:35 PM   #1
Sgt_Wade

.223 rem & 5.56 reloading question

I am brand new to reloading. Just set up my RCBS press and have used hornady brass (brand new) for 6.5 creedmoor. I didn't have any issues doing that. My question is this. I have tons of spent 5.56 brass that I kept for reloading when I finally got into it; can I used .223 rem rcbs or hornady dies to make .223 rem ammo out of 5.56 brass or do I have to get brand new .223 rem brass??

Thank you all, I appreciate your expertise. I haven't found a direct answer via google.
Old August 12, 2018, 04:46 PM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

Welcome to the forum.

You are good to go. I've looked at the military and SAAMI cartridge drawings and the case dimensions are the same on the outside, so the same sizing dies work fine with both. The only exception is that every once in a while you run into a self-loader that wants the brass sized extra small to feed smoothly, and for those you need a small base die. But I've never owned a rifle like that myself. Some military brass is harder, so have a good sizing lube. But except for a couple of foreign brands, the case capacity in .223 and 5.56 is also about the same (unlike .308/7.62, for which military brass tends to be a little less roomy inside), so they are interchangeable.

The only thing to watch out for is that military 5.56 brass, and some civilian .223 brass will have crimped primers to prevent the primers coming out when firing in a machine gun. You need a tool to remove the crimps after decapping or you may have some problems seating primers. Sometimes you can get away with it, but it can be hard and at other times it can't be done.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old August 12, 2018, 04:53 PM   #3
Rangerrich99

What Unclenick said.
Old August 13, 2018, 06:29 PM   #4
Sgt_Wade