The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Forum Support > Site Questions and Tech Support (NO FIREARMS QUESTIONS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 22, 2007, 09:00 AM   #1
stellarpod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 18, 2001
Location: OKC,OK
Posts: 263
"new Posts" vs. "No New Posts" icons

I've asked this before but never received an answer.

I've noticed that when I log on to TFL (or THR for that matter), the "New Posts" icons show up as they should - indicating what's new since my last visit. HOWEVER, if I open a new browser window and then go back to TFL, virtually all of the icons will change to "No New Posts". This effectively erases my ability to sort new threads from old ones. I suspect that this is a vBulletin issue, as it does not appear to happen with other board software.

This happened with with the old IE Version 6 and it also happens if I open a new tab with IE Version 7 (beta).

It's really a pain when someone posts a link, and I envoke the link in a separate window only to find that I've trashed all my "New Post" tracking. Highly annoying.

Does anyone else esperience this phenomenon? Have I got something switched improperly?

stellarpod
__________________
Things are a lot more like they used to be than they are now
stellarpod is offline  
Old April 22, 2007, 09:14 AM   #2
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 16,085
Just to clarify:

a) You enter TFL at the start of the day and see several threads marked with the new-posts icon.

b) You then open a new IE window to view a link.

c) You immediately (say, within 5 minutes or so) go back to TFL and the new-post icons have changed to the no-new-posts icon.



Is that correct or is the time period in step c 20 minutes or more?


[Note: I have to leave in about 5 minutes. I'll check back here in a few hours. Anyone else who has an idea about the problem might also come along.]
Mal H is offline  
Old April 22, 2007, 09:18 AM   #3
stellarpod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 18, 2001
Location: OKC,OK
Posts: 263
That is essentially correct. It happens in seconds - not minutes.

There are sometimes a few (3 or 4) "New Post" icons at the top, which I attribute to new postings that happen in the interim between when I left and when I return.

I have put up with this literally for years and I am stumped.

stellarpod
__________________
Things are a lot more like they used to be than they are now
stellarpod is offline  
Old April 22, 2007, 09:21 AM   #4
stellarpod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 18, 2001
Location: OKC,OK
Posts: 263
Further clarification:

I ALWAYS leave the original TFL window open. It happens just by opening another window.

If I'm reading a thread, click on a link and open a new window, I can't expect that when I back up to the thread listings page my "New Posts" icons will be gone.



stellarpod
__________________
Things are a lot more like they used to be than they are now
stellarpod is offline  
Old April 22, 2007, 11:14 AM   #5
TheBluesMan
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: June 15, 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,558
I used to use Internet Exploder and I think there is a setting that refreshes the cache either: A. Every time a page loads. B. When a page content changes. C. Manually. You should try changing it to B - it sounds like it is currently set to A.

The reason I can't give you exact instruction is because whenever I open IE it locks up my computer. Firefox is the way to go for web browsing.

-Dave
__________________
-Dave Miller
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Firearms Safety, Personal Protection.
Tick-off Obama - Join the NRA Today - Save $10
TheBluesMan is offline  
Old April 22, 2007, 02:16 PM   #6
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 16,085
If it happens in seconds or a few minutes, then my initial theory is not correct. I thought you might have been auto-logged off of TFL. However, it takes 20 minutes or more for that to happen.

I think the answer lies somewhere in your system. Try the setting TBM suggested. I honestly don't think there is anything TFL (or vbulletin) is doing to cause that problem.

I also second his suggestion of using Firefox in lieu of IE.
Mal H is offline  
Old April 22, 2007, 02:48 PM   #7
stellarpod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 18, 2001
Location: OKC,OK
Posts: 263
Thanks for the response guys. I'll give it a whirl.

stellarpod
__________________
Things are a lot more like they used to be than they are now
stellarpod is offline  
Old April 23, 2007, 04:17 PM   #8
stellarpod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 18, 2001
Location: OKC,OK
Posts: 263
TheBluesMan:

Thanks! Your suggestion did the trick. I owe you a beer!

stellarpod
__________________
Things are a lot more like they used to be than they are now
stellarpod is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2018 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.05285 seconds with 8 queries