The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old June 9, 2011, 10:46 AM   #1
ThomasB

.45 SAA What are these Markings?

I have a SAA .45 Colt, that I have verified with Colt as a being a 1st generation that was received by the Government of 24 December 1884. The sn check by phone ($150.00) dis not tell me anything about why this weapon has a 4 6/8" barrel, and is shown in the records as having been a 7.5" originaly as issued. The weapon has a E in three locations; left side just above the large screw small E, just below set screw for the base pin a large E, and a large E on butt below strap screw. Inside loading gate is two digit "10" so I am certain along with the SN 113812 this is a 1st Generation. I have pic but not sure how to post as this is my first time on this forum. Any help would be graet. Thanks
Old June 9, 2011, 11:29 AM   #2
Scorch

Quote:
The sn check by phone ($150.00) dis not tell me anything about why this weapon has a 4 6/8" barrel, and is shown in the records as having been a 7.5" originaly as issued
Your SAA has been rebarreled with a shorter barrel or the barrel was shortened. If it is a factory barrel it will have the barrel markings approximately in the middle of the barrel; if it has been shortened, the markings will be closer to the front of the barrel. If your revolver was returned to the factory and the replacement was done there, it will be noted on a factory letter. If not noted on the factory letter, the replacement was not done at the factory. Many Colt replacement barrels were available from parts houses, so it could be a Colt factory barrel and not be the proper generation barrel. If this concerns you, consult a Colt collector for insight.
Old June 9, 2011, 12:02 PM   #3
ThomasB

SAA 4 6/8 bbl