The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old March 10, 2010, 09:41 PM   #1
ZVP

Comparing Balls and cartriges

I have been shooting Black Powder cap and ball for about 9 months now and I still do not understand how to compare the relatitive power of a cap and ball shooting .44 and the .45 Long Colt.
I have fired both the. 45 cartrige (Smokeless) and the .44 C&B, the C&B recoils less, fires a lighter bullet. I am not sure of the velocity of the BP load but it has to be at least 600fps, correct?
Today I read an article quoting .45 LC loads and they use a base load of 30 gr of BP just as I use for a common load in my '58 Remingtons. however they geta 255 gr bullet going 755 fps!
My question is how much realpower do my 5 1/2" and 8" Remingtons actually produce firing a Ball and 30 gr of Black Powder as opposed to a conversion cylinder firing a .45 LC would be producing.
It seems the C&B load is far inferrior to any cartrige load of the same caliber using a cartrige conversion.
How much real raw horsepower am I loosing by shooting a Cap and Ball as opposed to mounting a conversion cylinder in the frame?
Heaven forbid I would ever need to use the C&B for defense and self protection how much potential disadvantage am I under by trusting the origonal 30 gr B/P load to using a 30 gr .45 LC cartrige in such a situation?
I know the C&B is a very deadly weapon but what's the difference if I went to cartriges?
Please help me get a grasp on maybe a formula to figure this out.
TIA,
ZVP
Old March 10, 2010, 10:04 PM   #2
hickstick_10

kenetic energy = mass x velocity (weight in pounds) x (feet per second)

compare it to other ballistics tables
Old March 10, 2010, 10:56 PM   #3
Newton24b

you have to consider something here.