The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old May 3, 2011, 02:16 AM   #1
argyle1812

Hog Hunting Help

for starters does anyone know good places to hunt hog in washington state or the pacific northwest? second if so what caliber would be ideal? I have mainly military rifles mostly 7.5 swiss, 303 british, and 8mm mauser. im new to hog hunting so any help would be appreciated thanks.
Old May 3, 2011, 02:27 AM   #2
Madball6

I have no idea what kind of hog infestation you have in your area, but if you do find a hog, any and all of those calibers are more then sufficient for dropping hog in the under 500 pound range. granted I have no idea what size hogs you have in your area but im guessing they are smaller then the max hogzilla sizes we have in the southeast.
Old May 3, 2011, 02:32 AM   #3
Madball6

as a side note, if you are hunting them for meat, try to stick with sows under 200 pounds, boars over 100 pounds leave a foul taste in your mouth, no matter how quickly you gut/skin them. Boars over that weight are excellent dog food assuming your willing to raw feed your animals. Hoglets under 60 pounds make for awesome tasting smoked meat. Quarter them and smoke them and you have some of the finest hunt meat you'll find.
Old May 3, 2011, 06:29 AM   #4
Deja vu

I have hunted hogs in Oregon. I don't remember the name of the place but it was near Bend. The hogs I saw where no where near the size of the hogs you will see on the internet but they where good to shoot and decent to eat.

When we went I brought 2 guns a 357 magnum Marlin and a 45/70 marlin. The guide said to go with the 357 because the 45/70 was too much gun if that gives you any idea of what to expect.

Our biggest hog was a 260 lbs sow. Most of them where in the 90-150 lbs range.

all 26 of my guns are 45/70 govt, 357 mag, 22 or 12 ga... I believe in keeping it simple. Wish my wife did as well...
Old May 3, 2011, 07:21 AM   #5
Double Naught Spy