The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 9, 2010, 03:02 PM   #1
shredder4286

Opinions on Hornady LnL Single Stage

I've heard so much about the rock chucker, lee classic ect- single stage presses, but haven't really heard anybody talk about the Hornady Lock-n-load single stage press. i got one before i shipped out because it was on sale, and i've heard great things about Hornady. I figured for rifle, i'd start out w/ a single stage because of the accuracy factor, and simplicity, since i'm new to rolling my own. Anyone have any personal experience w/ this piece?
Old July 9, 2010, 03:35 PM   #2
totaldla

Nope - no personal experience. However, I believe you should buy the Lee Classic Turret instead of any single-stage. It's just a flat better design and value.
Old July 9, 2010, 04:12 PM   #3
Fox1

I just got one and I had to buy a bunch of the twist lock bushings for all the dies I wanted to use in it.
At first I was worried about them but they lock in tight and it makes it easier to change dies quickly.
I suppose if a person didn't want to pick up a bunch of those bushings you could probably just Lock Tite one into place like one of my buddies did.
As far as using it, I love it.
Old July 9, 2010, 04:55 PM   #4
engineermike

I have the Lock N Load classic press by Hornady and It works just fine. I really like the L N L die bushings as it makes it a snap to change out the dies. I like the single stage press as I can watch my loadings. If you are looking for more speed and still watching what you are loading I would go with a turret press but instead of the L N L die bushings you have to by the turret head plates for the press you are using unless you want to use only one head plate and take out one set of dies and put in another. I might also add that all I have loaded with my press is pistol ammo no rifle.

Mike
Old July 9, 2010, 07:33 PM   #5
BigJakeJ1s