The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old July 7, 2018, 07:58 PM   #1
9mm

Accuracy problems with guns; long read, dilemma..

Back story of myself, I have been shooting for about 10 years now, I scored expert in the USN course with M9 239/240 points (missed first DA pull!) and M4 course expert too..

I have a Ruger Mark III with a bushnell red optic, as seen in the photos the groupings in the circles are mine expect for the head; the left is slow fire and the right is rapid fire. I shot this today at 10 yards, I swear this gun gets better with more ammo I shoot through it. I never really liked the Ruger Mark III based on its looks, it's a very accurate gun though and it grows on me each time I take it to the range....

The real problem is my other guns I own are not interesting to me much anymore expect for the looks and function.. They honestly aren't the most accurate and I feel like I am wasting my time shooting them for accuracy, they are just fun to play around with. I like 22lr revolvers a lot, I have a few others.

Ruger single six, not that accurate at 5-10 yards... I have close to 400 rounds through this gun and I am still playing with my sights.

S&W m17 4" the same thing, I played with it for a while today and couldn't get it to go point of aim. Same I shot at 5-10 yards.

Most of my shooting was at the 5 yard line and I put about 150-200 rounds through each today..

The sights would always be too high on all my guns.. I couldn't get them lowered enough. I felt like I was limited with the adjustment levels of these two guns.. I shot the m17 in single action to match the MK III trigger.. I know they are semi vs revolver..