The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Harley Nolden Memorial Institute for Firearms Research

Old April 13, 2017, 06:26 PM   #1
Rabid1

1903 Springfield Sporter, Researched, Unusual? Please Weigh In!

Hello, my name is Rick Douthit. I’m a retired cop and business owner. I acquired this 1903 from my step-father who is no longer with us.

I don’t believe in asking questions until I’ve researched the Web for the answers first. I’ve pretty much done that for this rifle, and now I’d welcome the opinions of the experts on this forum.

What I know:

The barrel date, receiver serial (1498077) and stock serial (same) all match. (See Below)

[IMG]http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa258/Rabid1_photos/Springfield%201903/Barrel-Marings-A_zpslcwv1mf2.jpg[/IMG

The Lyman “Alaskan” Scope is period-correct. This model scope (with no turret caps serial# 1712) was only produced from 1937-41 and there were fewer than 4000 made.

More

I’m not sure what these barrel markings mean:

The “P” Stamp on barrel

Here:

The “C 2147” Stamp

Here.

Regarding the bolt: At first I was concerned because there was no serial number visible. Based on a tip from a forum member I checked it under bright light, and, sure enough found the faint remnants of the serial.

Firing Pin Rod:

Has "NS 3" Stamp

And C 64109 2

Stock Markings:

Here’s where it gets interesting:
We know the Lyman scope and Griffin & Howe mount are period-correct. The mount looks to be at the very least, professionally installed. The edges of the stock cutout around the mount are stained like the rest of the stock. Could this be a factory job? Could the “P” stamp on the barrel mean it’s a prototype?

Does anyone have an opinion about this rifle? Value? (The barrel’s in good condition and everything functions as intended)
I welcome all answers!
Thanks for taking the time, it’s very much appreciated.
Rick

Last edited by Rabid1; April 13, 2017 at 11:20 PM.
Old April 13, 2017, 07:00 PM   #2