The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old October 2, 2018, 11:51 AM   #1
stagpanther

Last Valk Comments

This is probably above my pay grade--I'm just a home hobbyist that simply likes building AR's and developing loads for them. I have purchased several 224 valk barrels and tried to make the best of them--though have come across some issues that are pretty controversial--if you go over to the 6.8 or 224 valkyrie forums you can pretty much get the gist of the issues as boiling down to "possible" variances in the reamers used and whether or not they are within SAAMI compliance. There's even possible evidence the SAAMI specs themselves were issued in various "flavors" over the course of the industry's roll-out of the valk.

Bottom line is that so far the end-purchaser appears to be taking a gamble on both the chamber configuration and the performance expectations of the product they are buying. Strictly my opinion--but this is not a good thing and not only are customers potentially getting screwed, but the overall viability of the cartridge may be in jeopardy. It's become a sort of "race against time" to salvage those expectations with new factory ammo offerings that are up to par with the initial hype--again, just my opinion.

In the meantime, I've shot a thousand or so handload cartridges through both the "long cut" chamber and "short cut chamber" often veering off into what I would call wildcat territory.

I recently re-assembled a rifle based on a PSA valk barrel, and discovered some pretty interesting things. These interesting "things" I offer up as just my experience and for the reader's "food for thought."