The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old June 13, 2017, 11:03 PM   #1
mrcharlie3531

Florida stand your ground law has changed..

Associated Press) Florida is now the first state with a law that spells out that prosecutors, and not defendants, have the burden of proof in pretrial “stand your ground” hearings.

Republican Gov. Rick Scott signed a bill Friday that will force prosecutors to prove during a pretrial hearing that defendants weren’t acting in self-defense when they committed an act of violence. The law took effect as soon as Scott signed it.

Before Friday, the burden of proof in pretrial hearings was on defendants. The Florida Supreme Court issued a ruling in 2015 that made that clear. Republican lawmakers responded to the ruling by pushing the bill Scott signed.

Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2017/06/florida-l...RP0KrXQLvYB.99

I am a Marine Corps Veteran. I protect my home with loaded firearms. I don't wait for the police to show up. I live in a rural area. I would be amazed if they found my in a timely manner.
Old June 13, 2017, 11:23 PM   #2
turtlehead

And isn't that the side the burden of proof should be on?
Old June 14, 2017, 12:00 AM   #3
Sawyer.N

^^ this bill seems to be in favor of those who may have to defend themselves, their family and their property. This is further protection from regrettable legal aftermath in the unfortunate event of defending your life in your home.
Old June 14, 2017, 02:23 AM   #4
Frank Ettin
Staff

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrcharlie3531
Associated Press) Florida is now the first state with a law that spells out that prosecutors, and not defendants, have the burden of proof in pretrial “stand your ground” hearings.