The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Lock and Load: Live Fire Exercises

Old February 6, 2016, 11:27 PM   #1
Ocraknife

does slow fire practice improve SD shooting?

I enjoy shooting and go as often as I can.

I usually start off with slow fire, carefully aimed shots focusing on breath control and consistent trigger pull then I'll do single handed (left and right) shooting and point shooting, fast shot drills.

That said, the bulk of my shooting is slow shooting because that is what I enjoy.

Lately I've begun to wonder if slow fire exercises help fast fire accuracy at all. I have no experience in IDPA or IPSC and, by the grace of God, I've never had to draw my weapon in anger so I have no practical experience.

What do you all think? Should I shift some of my slow fire practice over to practical, fast fire drills?

-Jimro
Old February 7, 2016, 04:04 AM   #2
GJSchulze

If you ever find yourself in a SD situation, I doubt very much you'll be doing much breath control. Practical shooting requires recoil control so you can get back on target as fast as possible. IPSC/USPSA and IDPA are timed events and as such create stress. This is good for practicing self defense, although in a limited way.

Slow fire target shooting teaches you to hit a target. Self defense shooting is under enormous stress, while both you and the target are moving.

I suggest you take some self defense shooting classes. Do you ever draw your gun from a holster? From under your shirt or jacket?

Slow fire target shooting is not nearly the right kind of practice for SD.
Old February 7, 2016, 10:04 AM   #3
g.willikers

^^^
Nicely and well said.
The type of slow fire with tight groups seen at most ranges by most people, is for hitting the target.
Shooting for self defense is about surviving a deadly encounter.
The main thing both have in common is the use of a firearm.
Your point shooting practice is probably the more useful of your regiment for self defense.