The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 12, 2011, 01:02 AM   #1
jpalmer67

Issues with crimp on colt 45

So im new to reloading, ive run several blanks and a few 10 round batches. Im using mostly RCBS products, inlcuding steel RCBS dies. Im loading the 45 colt round (long colt) using remington brass, HSM 200 grain round nose flat point lead bullets with a tapered cannelure or groove to butt the brass to which makes a perfect OAL bullet.

I read a few notes about crimping that stated that an over crimp will create a buldge in the brass below the bullet, and that is what I have and makes me believe that I am over crimping.

I started by only crimping the brass so that it is straight or square (remove the bell) but that leave almost a gap between the bullet and the brass right at that groove built in the bullet. I know the brass should line up on that groove based on the OAL, and it looks good. you can feel the gap with your finger and it does not look like factory ammo.

So i started adding crimp so that it closes that gap and hugs the lead but when I do that it makes the buldge below the bullet show up more. Ive backed it down a bit so it is just at the minimum which almost matches the factory ammo but that buldge is there.

Now I also wonder if it is because the brass is sized smaller than the factory ammo. before sizing, the middle of the brass is 0.4740", after sizing it is 0.4700", and the factory ammo is 0.476 across the length of the bullet. After the bullet is seated, the brass at that point is 0.4735, real close to the factory ammo. So is it possible the dies are over sizing (making brass too small) and inserting a bullet makes the buldge, and a correct crimp just makes it more pronounced? Is this normal or acceptable?