The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 20, 2018, 02:10 PM   #1
brasky88

200 grain bullets in 45 Colt Marlin 1894

Reloading newbie here. My brand new 50th edition Lyman reloading manual does not have load data in the 45 colt rifle section for 200 grain bullets. It does, however, have data in the 45 colt pistol section. Does it matter? Can I just use the data in the pistol section when loading 200 grain bullets for use in my Marlin rifle? I assume it should be fine, but just wanted to double check for any other opinions.

Thanks!
Old February 20, 2018, 02:12 PM   #2
zipspyder

Yes you can...
Old February 20, 2018, 02:39 PM   #3
T. O'Heir

Most manuals will not have .45 Colt rifle loads. So using the handgun data in your Lyman book(read the reference chapters. Good read with lots of info.) is fine. Only difference will be the velocities due to barrel length.
However, do not mix cast and jacketed data.
Hodgdon's site has cast and jacketed 200 grain handgun loads. http://www.hodgdonreloading.com/data/pistol
Old February 20, 2018, 05:03 PM   #4
buck460XVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipspyder View Post
Yes you can...
....because you are loading for the cartridge/caliber, not the platform. Have you ever seen .357, .44, .45 Colt or any straight walled handgun cartridge for that matter, factory loaded and designated solely for rifle or handgun? I doubt it. The platforms are built around the cartridge, not the other way around. While some older guns may not take high end max loads, it doesn't matter if they are handgun or long gun.
Old February 20, 2018, 05:08 PM   #5
zipspyder

Agreed, I haven't found many that list lever load, only difference is for the higher pressure Ruger's and TC's, etc...
Old February 21, 2018, 02:52 AM   #6
44 AMP
Staff

Quote: