The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old June 27, 2011, 08:24 AM   #1
Eclipse

Ballistic Fingerprinting

I am currently a college student writing a research essay on Ballistic Fingerprinting, and I happened to stumble across this website. I have only found a few threads in which they talk about this topic, all in which everyone seems to be disagreeing with the Integrated Ballistics Identification System (IBIS) but none seem to give valid reasons as to why they oppose it. Valid being that they have not backed it up with anything besides the fact "they disagree with it," or they just "do not want it." I am natural on the topic, and don't really care either way, but I am curious as to why people are disagreeing with it.
Old June 27, 2011, 08:52 AM   #2
Bartholomew Roberts

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,66007,00.html
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAlixegkf0o
http://old.nationalreview.com/commen...0502040751.asp
http://smallestminority.blogspot.com...ng-doesnt.html

All of the above links go into some detail about why ballistic fingerprinting is a bad idea. The subject has been discussed here for almost ten years now, so I find it difficult to believe you were unable to find any "valid" reasons why it should not be adopted. If you search the archives here, you'll even find links to the original state of California assessment on ballistic fingerprinting.
Old June 27, 2011, 08:55 AM   #3
Don H

Would biometric fingerprinting be of much use if fingerprints naturally changed over time or if people could alter their fingerprints at will?