The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 22, 2013, 11:10 PM   #1
browninghunter86

45 ACP Help Needed

I am new to pistol reloading. Anyone use these bullets that would mind telling me what OAL I should be starting at as a guide?
http://www.rozedist.com/mm5/merchant...Code=ZBJ-45ACP

My factory WW Ranger Ts drop right in. These at a length of 1.207" do not drop in like the rangers do.

ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED
Old April 23, 2013, 02:22 AM   #2
joneb

Different ogive. Seat deeper until the round head spaces correctly, and adjust the charge accordingly.
I find the max COL and seat .005-.01" deeper for jacketed bullets.
For lead bullets I seat them closer to the max COL.
Old April 23, 2013, 06:41 AM   #3
Misssissippi Dave

I have used 1.2 to 1.220" for my OAL with 185 grain JHP bullets. They were not Zero bullets but I doubt that would be a problem normally. Have you measured to see if you removed the flair you put on the case to seat the bullet? It is possible just checking this could fix things. Measure the case at the mouth with bullet seated and crimped. Measure the diameter again about 1/8" from the case mouth towards the head again. It should be the same. If the case mouth measurement is larger you may not have remove enough of the bell/flair you placed on the case to seat the bullet. You should only need to crimp enough to remove the flair in the case. Excessive crimping can bulge the case enough that it won't drop in the barrel.
Old April 23, 2013, 08:55 AM   #4
browninghunter86