The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 6, 2016, 02:26 AM   #1
JTReloader

Get rid of moisture!

Well my first post was in the wrong section, I hope I got it this time! Let me know if I'm not in the reloading section.

I'm just starting out reloading and built myself a nice bench. My biggest issue was how to store my powder. I ended up incorporating a small cabinet in the shells of my bench that would easily allow for pressure to escape in the event of a fire AKA no bomb I'm concerned with mouistire though. The bench is in my garage, one room over from the heat source. I was wondering what you guys might advise for keeping my powder and primers moisture free. I've thought about baking soda sitting in with the powder, but I've seen things like Damprid at Home Depot. Thanks in advance!!!
Old December 6, 2016, 04:53 AM   #2
kxkid

I kept mine in my garage for 4 years in Arizona and haven't had a issue. Keep the lids on and tight you will be fine. Also keep them out of direct sunlight.
Old December 6, 2016, 05:16 AM   #3
SARuger

I use an old stand-up style freezer. It was free. It easily blends in to the other stuff in the pantry.

I just added a dehumidifier box, like the ones they sell at the dollar store, keeps all the moisture out. Change out the box every couple of months
Old December 6, 2016, 07:26 AM   #4
Hog head

My powder and primers are in a detached garage with no heat (unless I'm in it) and has been there 15 years. It gets a bit humid in summer(understatement) and have had no problems as long as the cans are closed tight. The primers are in the original boxes also.
Old December 6, 2016, 07:37 AM   #5
FITASC