The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old November 6, 2008, 05:36 PM   #1
antsi

What stage of Deer Hunting madness are you in?

Here in IN, we are 8 days before opening day of gun season.

I usually don't get too psyched until a couple days before. This year, for whatever reason, I have been geeked up for most of the Fall.

It is almost enough to make me want to take up bow hunting so I can get out there earlier.
Old November 6, 2008, 05:56 PM   #2
Jager78

I have to wait until the second weekend to go hunt and I have been itching to go for the last three months. I have sighted in my rifle and been to the range it seems like every other weekend to make sure I'm still on target.
I have triple checked all of my gear and have been counting deer to fall asleep at night. Which doesn't help any!

I can't take it anymore! I need to get out in the woods and away from the all the flashing lights, noise, and especially work!

Six days left

Last edited by Jager78; November 6, 2008 at 06:05 PM.
Old November 6, 2008, 05:58 PM   #3
Merk_fmr8511

We are almost into 3 weeks of deer season here in Montana. I sighted in my 30-30 a month prior. I got a nice doe last weekend. The Lever Evolutions did their job. She dropped like a rock.
Old November 6, 2008, 06:17 PM   #4
scoobydoo6906

denial, I don't have the money to go this year.
Old November 6, 2008, 06:29 PM   #5
antsi

Oh, Scooby, ouch.

I bet you are not the only one who is having to cut back this year. We are doing some of that too.

Thankfully has not affected hunting so far.

Hopefully next year will make it up for you!
Old November 6, 2008, 06:42 PM   #6
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

I am awaiting general gun... But this year I am to poor NOT TO hunt! I can't afford not to bag some major poundage of wild meat.
Brent
Old November 6, 2008, 06:47 PM   #7
zoomie

I'm in TX and don't own land... so it's hogs only for me. I guess that puts me pretty high on the madness scale, though.