The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 27, 2009, 01:50 PM   #1
rburch

Different Bullets or cases in Reloads?

Ok, so I'm just starting out with reloading.

I have the Lyman 49th edition, but I have a question about the process.

Can you swap bullets and cases in the reloading tables?

For example, the 9mm table lists:

125 gr Sierra JHP W/ 3.9 grs of Bullseye. in Federal Brass.

I only have some Hornady 125gr XTP bullets.

Will I be able to use this load or should I find one for the Horandy bullets.

I don't have any federal brass at the moment, only WWB and Hornady. Will the different brass make the load unsafe?
I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.
Old February 27, 2009, 02:14 PM   #2
klcmschlesinger

I do this.

I am not telling you what to do, but I do this. I back the charges down and check for pressure signs. But yes, I use whatever brass I have, I almost always use Winchester Primers (very available around here), and a Hornady FMJ bullet will be pretty similar to a Remington bullet. Start low and work up.

The Zen philosopher Basho once wrote, "a flute with no holes is not a flute, and a donut with no hole, is a danish."
Old February 27, 2009, 03:53 PM   #3
PCJim

Rburch, I am sure most everyone on this forum does, or has done, this to some degree. When interchanging components, you should always reduce your powder load and begin working up from the beginning. Rule of thumb if no starting/minimum load is provided is to reduce 10% from the maximum load stated.