The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 8, 2008, 04:40 PM   #1
G.R.

Tumbling question

I'm Relatively new to reloading but have a question on some advice I was given
I was told that after reloading, whether it's pistol loads or rifle cartridges that it was good to re-tumble the loaded shells to given them a final cleaning before loading them into your firearm.
I have always wiped my rifle cartridges after loading but never thought to tumble.
Any advice either way? Any chance of them going off?
Old May 8, 2008, 05:15 PM   #2
BigJimP

I wouldn't tumble them - but some guys do. Is it dangerous - maybe - but I doubt it / is it prudent ( I don't think so ). I read in one of the gun magazines recently - where a shooter claimed he dropped a spent casing on top of a tub of reloaded cartridges - and it creased the primer just right / the round went off. I'm not saying whether its true or not - but I find it a little hard to believe - yet I wouldn't tumble finished cartridges either ( just in case ).

I use case lube on all my pistol calibers reloads - regardless of the fact that I use carbide dies - it makes the press run a lot smoother. I dump the reloads onto a bench, on a cheap folded up terry cloth bathtowel - rub about 10 at a time on the surface of the towel under my hand - to clean them up a little - then I run them thru a case gague as I box them up. I think that is all you need to do.
Old May 8, 2008, 06:10 PM   #3
CrustyFN