The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 24, 2011, 09:15 AM   #1
FJJ3

Trouble with F/L Sizing .308 Win

hello everyone

first, i'll detail my setup, then the issue i'm having. I'm using a turret press, it was given to me by my father and i do not know the brand. I'm using RCBS dies & shellholder. I use Wilson case gauges, but i do not have the RCBS Precision Mic.

i have been reloading for a few years now and this is the first time i've encountered this issue with my .308 brass (and .270). I'm currently working on LC .308 brass. I set the F/L resize die a 1/8turn after it touches the shell holder, lube my cases with Dillon's case lube. Resizing didnt require excessive force. after checking length, trimming, debur/chamfer, the brass fits in the Wilson case gauge, however when i check them in my rifle (Savage 12 F/TR) the bolt binds when closing. I used a felt tip to color a case & put it in the rifle. I'm getting marks just below the shoulder on the body of the case & very faint marks on the shoulder itself. the neck wasnt scratched at all. i've tried moving the die down/up, removing the expander ball still all the same problem. I have 50 cases on the bench, and 46 of them are like this. I have the same binding on some fire-formed unloaded brass for this rifle also, which worked fine before firing.
Old January 24, 2011, 12:30 PM   #2
JDM