The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old December 21, 2008, 08:39 PM   #1
ovrmydeadbdy

How do you call the yotes in?

I just wanted to know how everyone else calls in the Coyotes.. tips and tricks are all welcomed here. I'm new to the sport!
Old December 21, 2008, 09:30 PM   #2
troy_mclure

depends on the laws of your state.

ive used a live chicken, staked to a post.
electronic calls i downloaded to my ipod, and played thru external speakers.
dead rabbit, w/ a mouth squeal call.
There is only one tactical principle which is not subject to change. It is to use the means at hand to inflict the maximum amount of wound, death, and destruction on the enemy in the minimum amount of time."
Old December 21, 2008, 09:38 PM   #3
JasonG

I use a wounded sheep mouth call.
"Bones, what killed him ?" "Acute lead poisoning Jim....." ST-TOS#61
Old December 21, 2008, 09:40 PM   #4
Tim Burke

Tactics & Training?
Old December 21, 2008, 09:55 PM   #5
kraigwy

I dont have to call them, they come in on their own to eat my chickens.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old December 21, 2008, 10:42 PM   #6
Dwight55

A buddy of mine said he used 6 week old kittens for bait, . . . I could only do that if I had it safe in a cage, . . . but I don't know if that would work out.

May God bless,
Dwight
If you are reading this in English, . . . thank a Veteran!
Old December 21, 2008, 11:16 PM   #7
armedtotheteeth

I went to Varmint als web page http://www.varmintal.com/coy5-20.htm and downloaded his free calls. ( they are towards the bottom of this link) I burned them to a CD with 1 minute of silence between tracks. I just drive my truck out to where i have seen or heard yotes. Open the Doors on the truck and let it blast.
Old December 22, 2008, 05:51 AM   #8
Daryl

There are lots of ways to call coyotes. Most of the above are likely the least effective methods I've ever heard of.