The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old June 22, 2016, 07:54 AM   #1
psh

Forbes: "Why I Don't Trust Government-Backed 'Gun Violence' Research"

I am a physician and a gun owner (Glock 30). Which is I wrote this piece in today's Forbes: "Why I Don't Trust Government-Backed 'Gun Violence' Research".

Bottom line: The federal government's CDC (Centers For Disease Control) has been too biased against guns to objectively study "gun violence".
Old June 22, 2016, 08:11 AM   #2
Armorer-at-Law

Well done. I hope this helps more people who only read "mainstream" media to understand this situation.

P.S.- I don't classify Forbes magazine as "mainstream" media in any pejorative way. Just saying it's an outlet that covers a broad spectrum of issues and is read by a broad spectrum of the public.
Old June 22, 2016, 08:33 AM   #3
g.willikers

Thanks for speaking out.
Coming from a member of the medical profession, it should have more impact.
Old June 22, 2016, 08:35 AM   #4
BarryLee

Yes, I too appreciate the article and would love to see it carried in more places. I often read good articles in places like the WSJ and can’t help think they are just sort of “preaching to the choir”. I would love to see this article on the Huffington Post or maybe Mother Jones.
A major source of objection to a free economy is precisely that it ... gives people what they want instead of what a particular group thinks they ought to want. Underlying most arguments against the free market is a lack of belief in freedom itself.
- Milton Friedman
Old June 22, 2016, 08:49 AM   #5
CowTowner

Thank you and well done. An excellent read.
“Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life......” President John F. Kennedy
Old June 22, 2016, 08:58 AM   #6
speedrrracer