The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old June 9, 2018, 12:27 PM   #1
AL45

Steel targets-strike two

My Wife and I started shooting steel targets about 6 months ago. We have had no issues when shooting rimfires and handguns from.22 to .45. The problem has been my .308. I have a 3/8, AR500 target which said it was good from 150 yards with a .308 under 3000 FPS. I'm using reloads of 150 grain jacketed soft points and according to the load data should be at 2800 fps. I'm shooting from a 16" barrel, so it is probablly a little less. From 300 yards it is still making a small dimple in the target. So I purchased a 1/2" AR500 target from a different company that said it was good from 100 yards. Well, a 165 grain jacketed soft point at 2500 fps at 110 yards is making a small dimple in it. So I loaded some 150 grain jacketed soft points all the way down to 1200 fps and by golly they worked fine. I did have to aim 12 inches high to hit the taget at 110 yards though. The 3/8 target is made by Champion, the 1/2 target has the Cabelas name on it. Is there a such of thing as a steel target that works as advertised?
Old June 9, 2018, 04:22 PM   #2
Sharkbite

I use “shoot steel.com”targets for all my training usage. Check em out.
Old June 9, 2018, 05:43 PM   #3
10-96

I always assumed the rating for XX thickness of plates to stand up to XX caliber at XX distance was for the projectile not to pass completely through.

With added weight comes added energy upon the impact point. Would it be possible to look at bullets in the 125 to 130 grain ballpark? Or even bullets engineered towards the Varmint Bullet style of construction and weight?

I suspect a thing or two... because I've seen a thing or two.
Old June 10, 2018, 04:26 PM   #4
RedHoundTargets