The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old June 27, 2011, 07:05 PM   #1
jonesh529

Help shooting (looking down the sights) !!

Hello i am new to guns and havent bout one yet but i have went to a few shooting ranges to test some. A friend of mine taught me how to shoot but didnt teach me how to look down the sights, the stance etc. Is there any videos or whatever that i can look at??

I have been trying learn on my own by watching others but i want to be accurate (i know comes with practice).

thanks
Old June 27, 2011, 07:30 PM   #2
kraigwy

Two of the best books out there @ $6.95 each from the best shooters/instructors in the world.

Both books deal with competition, which you can ignor right now, but both also deal with Marksmanship Fundamentals which can't be ignored. Get the fundamentals down then diside where you want to go from there.

Start with the Rifle Here:

https://estore.odcmp.com/store/catal...4=&note5=&max=

Here is the one for the pistol:

https://estore.odcmp.com/store/catal...4=&note5=&max=
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old June 27, 2011, 07:34 PM   #3
raimius

Well, then, your friend didn't teach you how to shoot very well at all!

I recommend taking a class, or at least getting lessons from someone who formally teaches basic shooting on a regular basis.

FIRST, learn the Four Rules by heart and FOLLOW THEM!
http://thefiringline.com/library/safetyrules.html

Sight alignment, sight picture, and trigger squeeze are the basics of a decent shot.

This video gets most things right (disagree with his thumb placement and part of his stance, but those are more preferences than right/wrong).http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMoGzZxdbOE
Old June 28, 2011, 09:13 AM   #4
Mobuck

Don't want to be snippy but how can someone "teach you how to shoot" w/o teaching sight alignment and proper stance? On the plus side, apparently neither were injured during the training.