The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old March 23, 2014, 08:13 PM   #1
tahunua001

people must be proud of their US service arms

to ask the prices they are. I have not seen a single M1 garand for less than $1300 in even the worst condition. all M1917s in my area are going for $650+ even with shot out bores and cracked stocks. 1903A3s are being priced for $950+ did I miss something? I am still under the impression that CMP is still selling garands for $650, and 1903A3s and 1917s are $550 rifles?

I've been shopping for a 1917 or 1903A3 for months and have yet to find anything that sounds like a good deal.
Old March 23, 2014, 11:30 PM   #2
davery25

That's interesting.

That era of rifle has spiked in price down under in AUstralia as well. I can't find a 1903 for less that $950 in average condition. I've seen m1 garands at $1500 for ones with stock damage to them - otherwise they're $3000+. I cannot find a good luger for less than $3000.

SS marked Kar98s were on sale for $1200 a few years back and will now cost $4k if you're lucky enough to find one. I assumed they were still cheap over in the states
Old March 23, 2014, 11:44 PM   #3
SIGSHR

We're talking about rifles that have been out of production for 60 years or more, and yes, many of us hold on to ours. I have had my M1917 since 1967.
Old March 24, 2014, 01:30 AM   #4
10-96

Tahunua001- The best deal I've come across lately on a 1903 was to buy a sporterized rifle that still had correct metal parts (sights, bbl, receiver, bolt, and trigger). I believe I have about $515 in my most recent A3 and going a few parts at a time, plus, I sold the old Fajen(?) stock to a buddy for $40- so yeah, that brings it to about $515 ballpark. I looked at quite a few and settled on one that was still parkerized and had what I suspected to be a decent TE and ME.

I suspect a thing or two... because I've seen a thing or two.
Old March 24, 2014, 05:00 AM   #5
Orlando