The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 13, 2010, 02:46 PM   #1
Tuzo

.357 mag loaded to .38 spl

To avoid the dreaded cylinder carbon ring resulting from firing .38 specials in a .357 magnum revolver I tried something rarely mentioned in the forum. Loaded .357 mag cases with a .38 spl load: 158gr lasercast with 5.0 grains of Bullseye. Result was no carbon ring to clean and pleasant recoil.
Old January 13, 2010, 02:58 PM   #2
BDX

Yup

That's the way I've done it. Now all I have to do is get a good tip on how to remove that old carbon ring that appeared b4 I learned to load down my 357's to 38 specs!
Old January 13, 2010, 04:20 PM   #3
FlyFish

I was taught to load .38 Special-equivalent loads in .357 cases for my .357s some 35 years ago and that's the way I've done it ever since.

With regard to cleaning tips, one clever way I've heard of to do it (which I have no personal experience with - see above paragraph) is to flare the mouth of a fired .357 case with your expander die so it just barely fits into the chamber, then force it forward all the way. Supposedly it scrapes the deposit right out.
Old January 13, 2010, 05:59 PM   #4
BDX

Woot!

Outstanding tip FlyFish!
Old January 13, 2010, 10:48 PM   #5
MSD Mike

I have two model 19's and two Blackhawks in 357 and have shot many thousands of 38 special loads through them. In my guns the carbon build is no worse than when I shoot 357 loads, it simply covers a little more of the chamber but it comes right out with normal cleaning methods. I have also loaded 38 level loads in .357 brass with good (But not really better) results but I prefer loading 38 special for target level loads simply because I have tons of brass and I can load it more times without the case mouth splitting like it does on my nickel plated 357 brass.

Thanks
Mike
Old January 13, 2010, 11:06 PM   #6
jimbob86

Carefull: