The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 8, 2010, 10:24 PM   #1
(BH)

Quick question about data for lead...

Ok, so I'm new to the reloading game, and I have never loaded any lead. I just picked up some .38sp dies and I have a quick question.

If I order some bullets from, say, Missouri Bullet (or any other lead bullet supplier), can I assume that the load in Lymans 49th will work for that bullet?

To clarify, if I order some 158gr lead bullets from a given supplier, will the data from any reputable source apply for that bullet (as long as It's the same weight)? Are all lead bullets of the same weight and type cast to the same dimensions (ie have the same bearing surface)?

If they are all different, how can one tell what data to use? I assume that they are all close enough not to cause any safety issues due to the fact that none of the data I have read specifies the brand of bullet when it comes to lead.

ETA: I will be working these up from starting loads. I know at the upper end minor differences can be much more serious, but I don't plan on getting anywhere near the max loads with these.

It matters not how a man dies, but how he lives. The act of dying is not of importance, it lasts so short a time.
-Samuel Johnson

Last edited by (BH); June 9, 2010 at 10:30 AM.
Old June 8, 2010, 10:28 PM   #2
zxcvbob

In 9mm and other short high-pressure cartridges, the exact bullet can make a difference. In long low-pressure cartridges like .38 Special, not so much. Besides, that's why you start low and work up the load. HTH
Old June 9, 2010, 07:04 AM   #3
SL1

The alloy makes a difference.

Not all lead bullets that are the same shape can use the same load data. The reason is that lead bullets can be anything from pure lead, which is pretty soft, to wheel weigth alloy, which is significantly harder, to linotype alloy, which is pretty hard, to heat-treated alloys, which can be even harder.